

TITLE:

Consider/Discuss/Act on a Resolution Appointing Members to the Reinvestment Zone Number Two

- COUNCIL GOAL: Operational Excellence
- MEETING DATE: August 27, 2018
- **DEPARTMENT:** City Secretary
- **CONTACT:** Empress Drane

RECOMMENDED CITY COUNCIL ACTION:

Approve Resolution

ITEM SUMMARY:

- One (1) member may be appointed by Collin County, consistent with Section 311.009 of the Texas Tax Code, as amended.
- The Board of Directors shall be appointed by resolution or ordinance of the City or applicable taxing jurisdiction.
- All members of the Board of Directors shall meet eligibility requirements as set forth in Chapter 311 of the Texas Tax Code.
- There are four (4) positions expiring on September 30, 2018.
- Current members are:

George Fuller - Term expires 09/30/2018 Charlie Philips - Term expires 09/30/2018 Scott Elliott - Term expires 09/30/2018 La'Shadion Shemwell - Term expires 09/30/2018 Keith Self - Term expires 09/30/2018 (County Representative) Chuck Branch - Term expires 09/30/2019 Tracy Rath - Term expires 09/30/2019 Rainey Rogers - Term expires 09/30/2019 Roger Harris - Term expires 09/30/2019

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

- On September 21, 2010, the City Council adopted Ordinance 2010-09-035 establishing a tax increment financing zone ("TIRZ") known as Reinvestment Zone Number Two.
- Ordinance Number 2017-01-011 which amended and superseded Ordinance 2011-04-017 which established a Board of Directors comprised of nine members for the TIRZ and provided that the City Council shall be entitled to appoint a minimum of eight (8) board members to staggered two (2) year terms and also provides that the City Council shall endeavor to appoint a member of the aviation industry.

FINANCIAL SUMMARY: N/A

BOARD OR COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION: N/A

SUPPORTING MATERIALS:

Resolution (Draft)