

**TITLE:** Consider/Discuss/Act on Appointing a Member to the North Texas Municipal Water District Board of Directors

**COUNCIL GOAL:** Direction for Strategic & Economic Growth (**1E**: Increase community involvement and participation within local government / community)

MEETING DATE: January 19, 2021

**DEPARTMENT:** City Secretary

**CONTACT:** Empress Drane, City Secretary

**RECOMMENDED CITY COUNCIL ACTION:** Appoint a member to the North Texas Municipal Water District Board of Directors (NTMWD), to serve a partial term expiring May 31, 2022.

# **ITEM SUMMARY:**

- The NTMWD has a membership vacancy due to the departure of Charles McKissick.
- The new appointee will serve a partial term expiring May 31, 2022.
- This item was presented to the City Council on December 15, 2021 at which time it was tabled for additional time to review candidate information.

# BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

- North Texas Municipal Water District (NTMWD) was established in 1951 and provides water for 13 Member cities: Original ten cities of Farmersville, Forney, Garland, McKinney, Mesquite, Princeton, Plano, Rockwall, Royse City, and Wylie; and Richardson (1973), Allen (1998), and Frisco (2001).
- Cities with a population greater than 5,000 appoint two members to the board;

Cities with populations less than 5,000 appoint one member.

- Board appointments are two years in length, unless fulfilling an unexpired term.
- Mr. Charles McKissick served on the NTMWD Board since 2001 in many capacities including Board President, Board Vice President, Board Secretary, Solid Waste Committee Member, and Finance/Audit Committee Member
- McKinney is also represented on the board by Joe Joplin, who has served since 2003
- Information about the NTMWD is available online at https://www.ntmwd.com

### FINANCIAL SUMMARY: N/A

### BOARD OR COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION: N/A

# SUPPORTING MATERIALS:

NTMWD History NTMWD Board of Directors