

Legislation Text

File #: 16-861, Version: 1

Consider/Discuss/Act on a Resolution Appointing Members to the Reinvestment Zone Number One

MEETING DATE: August 22, 2016

DEPARTMENT: City Secretary

CONTACT: Sandy Hart, TRMC, MMC

RECOMMENDED CITY COUNCIL ACTION:

Approve Resolution

ITEM SUMMARY:

- One (1) member may be appointed by Collin County, consistent with Section 311.009 of the Texas Tax Code, as amended.
- The Board of Directors shall be appointed by resolution or ordinance of the City or applicable taxing jurisdiction.
- All members of the Board of Directors shall meet eligibility requirements as set forth in Chapter 311 of the Texas Tax Code.
- There are five positions expiring on September 30, 2016.
- Current members are:
 - Don Day Term expires 09/30/2016
 - Randy Pogue Term expires 09/30/2016
 - Travis Ussery Term expires 09/30/2016
 - Brian Loughmiller Term expires 09/30/2016
 - Chris Hill (County Representative) Term expires 09/30/2016
 - Chuck Branch Term expires 09/30/2017
 - Rainey Rogers Term expires 09/30/2017
 - Tracy Rath Term expires 09/30/2017

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

- On September 21, 2010, the City Council adopted Ordinance 2010-09-034 establishing a tax increment financing reinvestment zone ("TIRZ") known as Reinvestment Zone Number One.
- Ordinance Number 2011-04-016 established a Board of Directors comprised of nine (9) members for the TIRZ and provided that the City Council shall be entitled to appoint a minimum of eight (8) board members to staggered two (2) year terms and also provides that

the City Council shall endeavor to appoint a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a board term concurrent with such member's Planning and Zoning Commission term.

FINANCIAL SUMMARY: N/A

BOARD OR COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION: N/A