JOINT MEETING OF THE MCKINNEY CITY COUNCIL & MCKINNEY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

FEBRUARY 28, 2025

The City Council of the City of McKinney, Texas met in joint session with the McKinney Independent School District (MISD) Board of Trustees in the McKinney City Hall Council Chambers, 401 E. Virginia Street, McKinney, Texas, on Friday, February 28, 2025 at 11:30 a.m.

The meeting was streamed live online at https://mckinneytx.new.swagit.com/views/130. A video recording of the meeting is available to members of the public through the City of McKinney meeting archive.

President Philip Hassler on behalf of the McKinney ISD and Mayor George Fuller on behalf of City Council called the meeting to order at 11:36 a.m. upon determining a quorum of their respective boards were present and stating that notice of the joint meeting was posted in accordance with the Texas Government Code Chapter 551.

McKinney ISD Board Trustees present: President Philip Hassler (Place 2), Secretary Harvey Oaxaca (Place 7), Lynn Sperry (Place 5), Stephanie O'Dell (Place 6) and Larry Jagours (Place 1).

McKinney City Council Members present: Mayor George Fuller, Mayor Pro Tem Geré Feltus (District 3), Charlie Philips (At-Large 1), Michael Jones (At-Large 2), Patrick Cloutier (District 2), Rick Franklin (District 4) and Justin Beller (District 1).

McKinney ISD Board Trustees absent: Board Vice President Amy Dankel (Place 4) and Chad Green (Place 3).

School Representatives present: Superintendent Shawn Pratt, Deputy Superintendent of School Leadership Melanie Raleeh, Assistant Superintendent of Teacher & Learning and Accountability Dr. Amber Epperson, Assistant Superintendent of Business Operations, and Technology Dr. Dennis Womack, Assistant Superintendent of Public Relations & Communications Dr. Shelly Spaulding, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Alana Chisum, Director of Athletics Jennifer Frazier, Senior Director of Safety & Security Russell May, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent Azaleah Barreto, and Public Relations & Communications Coordinator Shane Mauldin.

CITY COUNCIL MINUTES FEBRUARY 28, 2025 PAGE 2

City of McKinney Staff present: City Manager Paul Grimes, Assistant City Manager Kimberly Flom, Assistant City Manager Barry Shelton, Assistant City Manager Steve Tilton, Assistant City Manager Trevor Minyard, City Secretary Empress Drane, Director of Housing and Community Services Margaret Li, Airport Director Ken Carley, Executive Director of Development Services Michael Quint, Police Chief Joe Ellenburg, Director of Planning Jennifer Arnold, Executive Director of Visit McKinney Aaron Werner, Deputy City Secretary Tenitrus Parchman, Assistant Director of Engineering Matt Richardson, Deputy Chief of Police Ana Navarro, Police Lieutenant Chris Kennedy and Audio Visual Technician Joshua Arias.

There were approximately 7 (seven) members of the public present.

Mayor Fuller called for Public Comments on Agenda Items.

Lee Moore, 1840 Hammerly, Fairview, TX 75069 expressed her thoughts regarding the McKinney Airport.

Mayor Fuller called for the following Discussion Items, with no action taken:

- A. MISD Strategic Plan with Major Initiatives
- B. Joint Safety Initiatives
- C. Brief NCAA 2023 Economic Impact Summary
- D. McKinney National Airport Update
- E. Upcoming Elections Polling Locations Open Seats
- F. Strategic Goal Setting Summary
- G. Road and Infrastructure (Growth Corridors)

H. Economic Development Projects - VENU - Cannon Beach - Byron Nelson

Mayor Fuller called for Joint Meeting Member Comments.

Mayor Fuller expressed his gratitude for the partnership between the City of McKinney and the McKinney ISD.

The McKinney City Council unanimously approved the motion by Mayor Fuller, seconded by Mayor Pro Tem Feltus and the McKinney ISD Board of Trustees unanimously approved the motion by Trustee O'Dell, seconded by Trustee Jagours to adjourn the meeting at 1:22 p.m.

These minutes were approved by the McKinney ISD Board of Trustees on March 31, 2025.

CITY COUNCIL MINUTES FEBRUARY 28, 2025 PAGE 3

SIGNED:

PHILIP HASSLER, President

HARVEY OAXACA, Secretary

These minutes were approved by the City Council on March 31, 2025.

SIGNED:

GEORGE C. FULLER, Mayor GERÉ FELTUS, Mayor Pro Tem

ATTEST:

EMPRESS DRANE, City Secretary TENITRUS PARCHMAN, Deputy City Secretary

City of McKinney, Texas