COMMUNITY GRANTS ADVISORY COMMISSION

OCTOBER 28, 2021

The Community Grants Advisory Commission of the City of McKinney, Texas met in regular session on the 2nd Floor Conference Room, City Hall, 222 N. Tennessee Street, McKinney, Texas on October 28, 2021, at 6:30 p.m.

Commissioners Present: Chairperson Donna Loughmiller, Vice-Chairperson Jennifer Mott, Commissioners DeAndre Hinton, Dwan Marshall, Todd Burton, Lent Keeler, Aaron Schmitz, and Commissioner Alternate Chris Thornton

Absent: None

Guest Present: Tammy Chu, NAACP of Collin County

Staff Present: Community Services Administrator Shirletta Best, Community Services Coordinator Camille Smith, and Administrative Assistant Lupe Armijo.

Chairperson Donna Loughmiller called the meeting to order at 6:44 p.m. after determining the presence of a quorum.

21-0967 Commissioners unanimously approved the motion by Commissioner Dwan Marshall, seconded by Commissioner Aaron Schmitz, to approve and refer the minutes of the Community Grants Advisory Committee Meeting of June 17, 2021.

21-0968 Introductions were given by each board member and staff present. Each member spoke a little about themselves: How long they have been on the board or if they are new; why they chose this board and what they hoped to gain from it or impact while serving on it.

21-0969 Commissioners unanimously approved the motion by current Chairperson Donna Loughmiller, seconded by Commissioner DeAndre Hinton, to approve Election of Chair and Vice-Chairperson as follows: Donna Loughmiller nominated Vice-chairperson Jennifer Mott as new Chairperson, second by Commissioner DeAndre Hinton. Donna Loughmiller also nominated Todd Burton for Vice-Chairperson, second by Vice-Chairperson Jennifer Mott. Another nomination for Vice-Chair was made by Commissioner Dwan Marshall for herself. It was seconded COMMUNITY GRANTS ADVISORY COMMISSION MINUTES October 28, 2021 PAGE 2

by alternate Chris Thornton. There was a vote, all were in favor for

Jennifer Mott to be Chairperson and Dwan Marshall as Vice-chairperson.

21-0970 Chairperson Jennifer Mott called on Administrator Best to present the

Presentation - Training Overview of CDBG and CSG Programs.

Administrator Best began with asking each member to give their input or

take to share with the group. Each gave their perspective and lesson

learned along the way and how to improve. Mrs. Best spoked to the

commissioners about their responsibilities and how each member are

grant reviewers under two community grants; the Community

Development Block Grant (CDBG), funded under the U.S. Department

of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and Community Support

Grants (CSG), under the general fund with the City of McKinney.

Commissioners will review public service grants and make

recommendations to council. She briefed commissioners on the program

requirements and stated grant applications are accepted through an

online grant portal called Zoomgrants. Best also discussed guidelines

and instances of conflict of interest that could arise at the time of grant

funding decisions. Board training will be provided at future meetings.

21-0971 Chairperson Jennifer Mott called on Administrator Best to present on

Program Updates. Mrs. Best discussed how we have additional funding

for homelessness under the City's renewal of the HUD Continuum of

Care Grant. Our next meeting will be held on November 11, 2021, to

review grant performance of FY 2021-year end. She will go to Council in

December to explain how funds were spent for the programs.

Commissioners unanimously approved the motion by Commissioner Donna Loughmiller,

seconded by Commissioner Lent Keeler, to adjourn the meeting. Chairperson Jennifer

Mott declared the meeting adjourned at 7:38 p.m.

Jennifer Mott Chairperson