

# **TITLE:** Consider/Discuss/Act on Appointing a Member to the North Texas Municipal Water District (NTMWD) Board of Directors

**COUNCIL GOAL:** Direction for Strategic & Economic Growth

MEETING DATE: May 18, 2021

**DEPARTMENT:** City Secretary

**CONTACT:** Empress Drane, City Secretary

**RECOMMENDED CITY COUNCIL ACTION:** Appoint a member to the NTMWD Board

#### **ITEM SUMMARY:**

• The term for sitting NTMWD Board Director Joe Joplin will expire May 31, 2021. City Council may re-appoint Mr. Joplin or appoint a new Director who will serve June 1, 2021 to May 31, 2023.

### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

- North Texas Municipal Water District (NTMWD) was established in 1951 and provides water for 13 Member cities: Original ten cities of Farmersville, Forney, Garland, McKinney, Mesquite, Princeton, Plano, Rockwall, Royse City, and Wylie; and Richardson (1973), Allen (1998), and Frisco (2001).
- Cities with a population greater than 5,000 appoint two members to the board; Cities with populations less than 5,000 appoint one member.
- Board appointments are two years in length.
- McKinney Directors are:
  - Joe Joplin was first appointed to the Board in 2003, currently serving in his ninth consecutive term.
  - Robert Appolito was first appointed to the Board in 2020, currently serving in his first term.
- Mr. Joplin has served on the NTMWD Board since 2003 in many capacities including President, Vice President and Secretary, and currently serves on the Water Committee and Personnel Committee.
- Information about the NTMWD is available online at <a href="https://www.ntmwd.com">https://www.ntmwd.com</a>

# FINANCIAL SUMMARY: N/A

# BOARD OR COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION: N/A

# SUPPORTING MATERIALS:

Appointment Notice Director Responsibilities NTMWD History