

**TITLE:** Consider/Discuss/Act on Designating a Board Chair of the Tax Increment

Reinvestment Zone Board Number One (TIRZ1) Board

**COUNCIL GOAL:** Operational Excellence

**MEETING DATE:** December 6, 2022

**DEPARTMENT:** City Secretary

**CONTACT:** Empress Drane, City Secretary

**RECOMMENDED CITY COUNCIL ACTION:** Elect a TIRZ1 Board Chair with term effective January 1 to December 31, 2023.

## **ITEM SUMMARY:**

 The TIRZ1 Bylaws, most recently amended by the adoption of City Council Ordinance No. 2017-01-010, state

"Each year the City Council shall annually designate one (1) member of the board to serve as chairman for a one (1)-year term than begins on January 1 of the following year. The Board of Directors shall elect from its members a vice chairman to preside in the absence of the chairman or when there is a vacancy in the office of chairman. The Board of Directors may elect other officers as it considers appropriate."

• The most recent officers were approved on February 15, 2022 for terms expiring December 31, 2022: (Chair) Charlie Philips and (Vice Chair) Rick Franklin.

## Current TIRZ1 Board Members:

Mayor George Fuller	McKinney City Council
Mayor Pro Tem Rainey Rogers	McKinney City Council, District 2
Justin Beller	McKinney City Council, District 1
Geré Feltus	McKinney City Council, District 3
Rick Franklin, current TIRZ1 Vice Chair	McKinney City Council, District 4
Charlie Philips, Current TIRZ1 Chair	. McKinney City Council, At-Large #1
Patrick Cloutier	. McKinney City Council, At-Large #2

Bry Taylor	McKinney Planning & Zoning Commission
Commissioner Darrel Hale	Collin County Commissioners Court

FINANCIAL SUMMARY: N/A

**BOARD OR COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION: N/A** 

**SUPPORTING MATERIALS:**