



## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21-0752 Name: 2021-22 TIRZ1 Appointments

Type: Resolution Status: Agenda Ready

In control: City Council Special Meeting

On agenda: 9/7/2021 Final action:

Title: Consider/Discuss/Act on a Resolution Appointing Members to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone

Number One (TIRZ1) Board

Indexes:

Attachments: 1. Resolution, 2. MCK ORD 2017-01-010 TIRZ1, 3. CC CO for TIRZ1 County Rep

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/7/2021	1	City Council Special Meeting	Approved	Pass

Consider/Discuss/Act on a Resolution Appointing Members to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Number One (TIRZ1) Board

**COUNCIL GOAL:** Operational Excellence

**MEETING DATE:** September 7, 2021

**DEPARTMENT:** City Secretary | City Attorney

**CONTACT:** Mark Houser, City Attorney | Empress Drane, City Secretary

**RECOMMENDED CITY COUNCIL ACTION:** Approve Resolution for TIRZ1 members

## **ITEM SUMMARY:**

- One (1) member may be appointed by Collin County, consistent with Section 311.009 of the Texas Tax Code, as amended.
- One (1) member shall be a representative of the McKinney Planning & Zoning Commission, with their TIRZ1 appointment being consistent with their P&Z appointment term.
- All members of the Board of Directors shall meet eligibility requirements as set forth in Chapter 311 of the Texas Tax Code.
- The Board of Directors shall be appointed by resolution or ordinance of the City or applicable taxing jurisdiction.
- Current members are:

EXPIRING SEATS	Term Expiration	
Bill Cox, Planning & Zoning	09-30-2021	
Rainey Rogers	09-30-2021	
Rick Franklin	09-30-2021	
Frederick Frazier	09-30-2021	

REMAINING SEATS	Term Expiration
George Fuller Geré Feltus Charlie Philips Justin Beller	09-30-2022 09-30-2022 09-30-2022 09-30-2022
COLLIN COUNTY MEMBER Darrell Hale County Commissioners' Court	Term Expiration effective until new member appointed by Collin

## BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

- On September 21, 2010, the City Council adopted Ordinance 2010-09-034 establishing a tax increment financing reinvestment zone ("TIRZ") known as Reinvestment Zone Number One.
- Ordinance Number 2017-01-010 which amended and superseded Ordinance 2011-07-046 which established a Board of Directors comprised of nine (9) members for the TIRZ and provided that the City Council shall be entitled to appoint a minimum of eight (8) board members to staggered two (2) year terms and also provides that the City Council shall endeavor to appoint a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a board term concurrent with such member's Planning and Zoning Commission term.

FINANCIAL SUMMARY: N/A

**BOARD OR COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION: N/A**